Congratulations to the DIFF 2014 winning filmmakers!

Posted on by

1362On Friday night, The Dallas International Film Festival, presented by AutoNation, announced its 2014 award winners at its annual gala, The Dallas Film Society Honors. Hosted at the Hyatt Regency Dallas and presented by Arthur E. Benjamin Foundation with Geoff Hawkes and Sheri Deterling, it was an evening designed to celebrate the outstanding independent filmmakers of this year’s festival. Award winners were presented with cash prizes and grants that totaled more than $50,000.

The results are in, and here are the winning films for DIFF 2014:

2014 Audience Awards (presented by Lascaux Films)
Best Short Film – VERBATIM
Best Documentary Feature – QUEENS & COWBOYS
Best Narrative Feature – NOBLE

Narrative Feature Competition
Narrative Feature Grand Jury Prize – HELLION
Special Jury Prize, Directing – BRAZILIAN WESTERN
Special Jury Prize for Ensemble Performance – 1982

Documentary Feature Competition
Documentary Feature Grand Jury Prize – THE SPECIAL NEED
Documentary Feature Special Jury Prize, Directorial Vision – EVOLUTION OF A CRIMINAL

Texas Competition (presented by Panavision)
Texas Grand Jury Prize – FLUTTER
Special Jury Prize - TOMATO REPUBLIC

Shorts Competition
Student Short Grand Jury Prize – A GRAND CANAL
Student Short Special Jury Prize - NI-NI
Short Grand Jury Prize – AFRONAUTS
Short Special Jury Prize – EASY

Animated Shorts Competition (presented by REEL FX)
Animated Short Grand Jury Prize – THE MISSING SCARF

Silver Heart Award (presented by Embrey Family Foundation)
Silver Heart Award - PRIVATE VIOLENCE
Special Jury Prize – ABOVE ALL ELSE

Special encore presentations of these winning films will be held this weekend at the Angelika film center. See below for more information.



The winners of the 2014 Dallas International Film Festival have been decided, and now is your chance to see them (or see them again). Starting from 2:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 12, we will screen these Jury Award winning shorts at the Angelika:

Narrative Feature Grand Jury Prize – HELLION
Documentary Feature Grand Jury Prize – THE SPECIAL NEED
Texas Grand Jury Prize – FLUTTER
Short Grand Jury Prize – AFRONAUTS
Animated Short Grand Jury Prize – THE MISSING SCARF
Silver Heart Award Winner – PRIVATE VIOLENCE

Then on Sunday, April 13, catch screenings of this year’s Audience Award winners:

Audience Award for Best Short Film: VERBATIM
Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature: QUEENS & COWBOYS
Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature: NOBLE

Click here to check the screening schedule and purchase tickets.


The Dallas Film Society is proud to announce the recipients of the 2014 Dallas Star Award, which honors individuals who have made important contributions to shaping the face of modern cinema and the advancement of the art of film. Recipients will receive their Awards at the DFS Honors, presented by the Arthur E. Benjamin Foundation, at the Hyatt Regency Dallas on Friday, April 11.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on July 30, 2013, by the organization’s Board of Governors. She has served for 21 years as an Academy Governor representing the Public Relations Branch and has held every elected office at the Academy. In 2014, Boone Isaacs was inducted into the NAACP Image Awards Hall of Fame. She currently heads CBI Enterprises, Inc., where she has consulted on marketing efforts on such films as THE ARTIST, THE KING’S SPEECH, PRECIOUS: BASED ON THE NOVEL ‘PUSH’ BY SAPPHIRE, SPIDER-MAN 2 and TUPAC: RESURRECTION. >>Read More

We will present a special Talk/Show, A Conversation with Cheryl Boone Isaacs, on Saturday, April 12 at the Crow Collection of Asian Art. The event is free and open to the public. Pass holders will receive priority seating. Click here for more information.

1353Michael John Kricfalusi, better known as John K., is an award-winning Canadian animator who grew up watching, drawing and being inspired by Hanna-Barbera and Tex Avery cartoons. Together with influential animator Ralph Bakshi, John K. supervised and animated the CBS series MIGHTY MOUSE: THE NEW ADVENTURES, considered a forerunner in creator-driven cartoons. In 1991 he premiered his best-known series, THE REN & STIMPY SHOW, which ran for five seasons on Nickelodeon and garnered him two Emmy nominations and two Annie Awards for Outstanding Individual Achievement in the Field of Animation.

We will present a special Talk/Show, A Conversation with John K., along with a screening of his selected works, on Saturday, April 12 at the Angelika Film Center Dallas. Click here for more information.

1354John Wayne’s monumental film career spanned five decades. He appeared in more than 175 films, more than a dozen directed by John Ford alone. For an entire generation, he was Hollywood’s biggest and most durable box-office star. Incredibly versatile, Wayne starred in just about every genre Hollywood offered: war movies, romantic comedies, police dramas, histories. But it was the Western-the American cinema-where Wayne made his most lasting mark. He was nominated three times for the Academy Award, winning the Oscar for Best Actor in 1969 for TRUE GRIT. And his powerful performance in THE SEARCHERS has been singled out by filmmakers and actors alike as the greatest performance by an actor on film, ever. >>Read More.

Members of the John Wayne family will accept the Dallas Star Award on April 13 at a special screening of STAGECOACH at the Texas Theatre.


Pick up a Weekend Pass and get the most out of the best three days at #DIFF2014.

We’ll have DIFF Award winner screenings on Saturday and Sunday, the Dallas Star Award presentation to members of the John Wayne Family at our screening of STAGECOACH, and Star Award Conversations with Cheryl Boone Isaacs and John K.

Don’t forget the rest of the Festival slate, including the world premiere of THE STARCK CLUB and the 30th Anniversary screening of PARIS, TEXAS.

Visit the Prekindle Box Office in Mockingbird Station or click to purchase your DIFF Weekend Pass online!




With 175 films and an Oscar to his credit, John Wayne is considered by many to be not only a great actor, but the American archetype.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs is the first African-American President of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and only the third woman to hold the office.

John Kricfalusi, the creator of Ren & Stimpy, is the recipient of the 2014 Texas Avery Animation Award presented by REEL FX.



Contact Us | Privacy Policy
© 2014 Dallas Film Society. All right reserved.